Summer Initiatives

In 2011 we created a fresh, new, engaging, and family-friendly exhibit area which was open to the public on Summer Sundays, telling the story of our area’s industrial heritage. In 2012 we launched Summer Sundays—Plus!  adding a new exhibit and open hours on  Saturday afternoons during the summer months. The museum will open again on Saturdays and Sundays in 2013,  beginning June 22 through September 1st, and is also open by appointment at other times.

If  you’ve been here before you’ll hardly recognize the bright and airy new space. You’ll see industrial development and related social history along a timeline, focusing on the spirit of innovation that fueled each era and how that same spirit might shape our future. Our 2012 exhibit focuses on the history of industry and its impact on Franklin County’s small towns. This exhibit continues to evolve as we talk with local historical societies and work together to tell each town’s unique industrial story.

We are pleased to partner with the Conway Historical Society this 2013 season to present an exhibit looking at the town’s industrial history, especially the growth and decline of its textile industry. And we’re especially pleased to have a Jacquard loom on exhibit, made by Smith College students under the direction of Greg Young, loaned to us for the season.

Thank you to our funders!

We are extremely grateful to our generous funders, including our major sponsor, the Community Foundation of Western Massachusetts (the Franklin Fund and Credit Date Services, Inc. Fund), Local Cultural Councils of the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency (see the list below), and the generous contributions of time, talent and treasure from local businesses and individuals. Many of our visitors have also expressed their appreciation for this support!

Local Cultural Councils supporting our 2011 Summer Sunday and 2012 Summer Sundays—Plus! initiatives:

  • Ashfield 2011
  • Bernardston 2011
  • Buckland 2011, 2012
  • Charlemont-Hawley 2011
  • Colrain 2011
  • Conway 2011
  • Deerfield 2011, 2012
  • Erving 2011
  • Leverett 2012
  • Leyden 2012
  • Gill 2011, 2012
  • Greenfield 2011, 2012
  • Montague 2011, 2012
  • New Salem 2012
  • Northfield 2011, 2012
  • Orange 2011
  • Rowe 2012
  • Shelburne 2011, 2012
  • Sunderland 2012
  • Warwick 2011, 2012
  • Wendell 2012